Invited speakers


Thermodynamics and information at the nanoscale
Janet Anders (University of Exeter, UK)

Janet Anders is the group leader of the theoretical Quantum Non-equilibrium Group at the University of Exeter, UK. The group’s focus is on quantum thermodynamics and includes research on the impact of quantum properties on thermodynamics and fluctuation theorems, and the non-equilibrium dynamics of nanospheres in optical tweezer experiments. Other research interests include thermal entanglement, quantum cryptography and quantum computing. Janet Anders is a previous Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin research fellow and chairs the European COST network “Thermodynamics in the quantum regime” & 


A trapped ion stirring up a cold atom cloud
Johannes Hecker Denschlag (Ulm University, Germany)

Johannes Hecker Denschlag is head of the Institute for Quantum Matter at the University in Ulm. His group carries out experiments with ultracold atoms, molecules as well as cold trapped ions.  A current focus point of the group is to study and control cold reactive collisions of atoms and molecules. 


Rydberg soft matter
Juan Garrahan (University of Nottingham, UK)

Juan P. Garrahan holds a chair in physics at Nottingham in the condensed-matter theory group.  His research covers a broad area of statistical physics and its applications.  Particular interests include the dynamics of complex and slow relaxing materials such as supercooled liquids and glasses and other soft-matter, molecular self-assembly, and non-equilibrium quantum systems.  Within the latter a focus has been on integrating ideas and methods of statistical condensed-matter physics with those of atomic physics and quantum optics to address problems in both open and close quantum many-body systems far from equilibrium, including issues such as thermalisation and many-body localisation, dynamics and pattern formation in atomic ensembles, quantum metrology and non-equilibrium phase transitions. In the past JPG was a Glasstone Fellow in Oxford and a Pitzer Visiting Professor at UC Berkeley.


Hybrid atom-membrane optomechanics
Philipp Treutlein (University of Basel, Switzerland)

Philipp Treutlein is head of the ultracold atoms laboratory at the University of Basel in Switzerland. With his group, he works on quantum metrology with ultracold atoms on atom chips and on hybrid tom-solid-state quantum systems. Recently, the group realized a hybrid atom-optomechanical system, where ultracold atoms are used to sympathetically cool and control the vibrations of a micromechanical oscillator.




Chiral interaction of light and matter in confined geometries
Arno Rauschenbeutel (Vienna Centre for Quantum Science and Technology, Austria)

Arno Rauschenbeutel holds the Chair for Applied Quantum Physics at the Institute of Atomic and Subatomic Physics, Vienna University of Technology, Austria. His research interests include experimental quantum optics, nanophotonics, cavity quantum electrodynamics, optical nanofibers, optical microresonators, and cooling and trapping of neutral atoms. The current research focus of his group is on light confinement and control as well as on light-matter interaction using optical micro- and nanofibers. Arno Rauschenbeutel received a Marie Curie Excellence Award of the European Commission, a European Young Investigators Award of the European Science Foundation, a Lichtenberg-Professorship of the Volkswagen-Foundation, and a Consolidator Grant of the European Research Council.

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline extended:
    14 October 2015
  • Early registration deadline:
    19 October 2015
  • Registration deadline:
    28 October 2015
  • Poster submission deadline:
    28 October 2015